• en en
  • en
  • de
Select Page
  • en en
  • en
  • de

The Corona crisis has caused the postponement of schedules worldwide. After the restart, the framework schedules for 2020/21 were really mixed up, the Champions League, for example, was played until the end of August – at a date when the UCL group stage of the following season is usually drawn. Of course, the top leagues in Europe now all start the football season later than usual. The exact start dates for the strongest leagues on the continent have now been set: The French kick off the new season with the start of Ligue 1, followed by the Premier League and La Liga, before the Bundesliga and Serie A start. We’ll tell you when and where the ball will roll again for the 2020/21 season!

Germany: Bundesliga and 2. Bundesliga will begin on September 18

Of the top 5 leagues, the Bundesliga was the first to make ends meet during the 2019/20 season during the corona pandemic. The 34th matchday took place at the end of June, so the Bundesliga teams that do not participate in the Champions League (Bayern, Leipzig) and Europa League (Wolfsburg, Frankfurt, Leverkusen) have a duty-free time of around 2.5 months. The Bundesliga will start on Friday, September 18, 2020. However, not as usual with a home game of the German champions. The originally planned opening game Bayern Munich against Schalke 04 will be postponed to Monday, September 21 (kick-off at 8:30 p.m.) due to Bayern’s Champions League final. Instead, the game Borussia Dortmund – Borussia Mönchengladbach will be brought forward to Friday, September 18. Kick-off at Signal Iduna Park is at 8:30 p.m. It is the first time that the Bundesliga opening game, introduced in 2002, has taken place without a reigning champions.

Two hours earlier, the 2. Bundesliga kick off. The season opener in the 2. Bundesliga will take place on September 18, 2020 with the games Hamburger SV – Fortuna Düsseldorf and Jahn Regensburg – 1. FC Nürnberg. The two games will kick off on Friday evening at 6:30 p.m. Sky will air live.

England: Liverpool’s title defense in the Premier League starts on September 12

The season in England was supposed to start on August 8th, but due to the Corona crisis, the season was postponed by almost four weeks to Saturday, September 12th, 2020. This means that the English teams’ summer break is a maximum of six weeks (correspondingly shorter for the European Cup participants Manchester City, Manchester United, Wolverhampton Wanderers and Chelsea). The Premier League schedule is still a long time coming, but should be published no later than August 21. Jürgen Klopp and Liverpool will start the new 2020/21 season before the Bundesliga.

Spain: La Liga season starts a week before the Bundesliga

Messi, Benzema and Co. have a similarly short summer break this year. The LaLiga Santander starts this time on September 12th, 2020, also just six weeks after the last matchday in Spain’s highest football league. The break is particularly short for the third climber from the Segunda division. After players tested positive for COVID-19 at Fuenlabrada, the playoffs there were again delayed for weeks. The La Liga schedule will be released in the last week of August.

Italy: Start of Serie A on the weekend of the Bundesliga opener

Cristiano Ronaldo is aiming for the title hat trick with Juventus Turin. The mission to defend the title for the team of coach Andrea Pirlo will start on September 19, 2020. The general schedule in Italy does not include a winter break. Well then: Buon Natale!

France’s Ligue 1: After being canceled, the first top division in the 2020/21 season

Compared to the other top leagues in Europe, Ligue 1 broke off its 2019/20 season and made Paris Saint-Germain the French champions. The break of over four months will end on Friday, August 21st. Girondins Bordeaux and FC Nantes open Ligue 1, which will operate under the sponsor name Uber Eats from next season. Incidentally, PSG will only join them later, as coach Thomas Tuchel’s team is still in Lisbon for the Champions League Final Eight.

Turkey: Süper Lig will start on September 11, 2020

The Süper Lig starts on Friday, September 11th, 2020 with 21 teams in the new 2020/21 season. The reason for this is the decision by the Turkish Football Association TFF not to relegate any club from the previous season. Lucky for Yeni Malatyaspor, MKE Ankaragücü and Kayserispor. In the 20/21 season there will be four relegated teams in the Süper Lig. By the way: With master Başakşehir, Galatasaray, Fenerbahçe, Beşiktaş, Kasımpaşa and newly promoted Fatih Karagümrük, six Istanbul clubs will play in the top Turkish league 2020/21.